Reading, part 1

First of all, my last post might have been a LITTLE too much information for some people. So, I password protected it. If you want to read it, just ask me.

Moving on.

I have these vivid memories of myself as this horribly awkward kid with huge unfortunate glasses who walked around with a book and notebook in hand at ALL times, either reading furiously to finish (so I could start another one), writing really weird notes about people, or creating stories that typically ended with a violent death of somebody. Bobby was very disturbed when I read him my stories and “plays”. I’ve had a way overactive imagination since I was little, and had to have someway to filter it. Reading was one of those ways for me to forget I couldn’t go anywhere or do anything with adult supervision.

Obviously I LOVE Shauna Niequist and draw a lot of encouragement from her story. I enjoyed reading what she read- http://www.shaunaniequist.com/ – on some of her posts. I spent 20 minutes at the library today looking for the books she recommended and left with Curtis Sittenfeld’s American Wife, so we’ll see how that one goes.

Here’s my short list. Favorite Books as of recent…

1) The Help by Kathryn Stockett
by far one of THE BEST books I’ve ever read. I want to erase my memory and start over. It opened my eyes immensely to the Civil Rights struggles…historical fiction will always be my favorite.

2) Bittersweet by Shauna Niequist
Life is good, life is hard. Just read it, but only after reading Cold Tangerines!

3) Her Mother’s Hope by Francine Rivers
the newest series by Rivers- I can never get enough of her books. I loved following the characters across the world into eye-opening, self-discovering types of relationships. The end left me hanging and for some reason the library does not have the sequel.

4) Sacred Marriage by Gary Thomas
not so much a “how-to-marriage” book, but more of how marriage is designed to make you holy. I knew I wanted to marry Bobby, but was NOwhere near being ready for marriage. I read this book in a few days, bought another one for Bobby and told him he couldn’t propose until he read this.

5) Outcast United by Warren St. John
I actually read this over a year and a half ago, but it stuck with me. My friend Greg gave it to me for my birthday, and it is the book that made me want to be a teacher, specifically ESL. It gives a lot of background on what refugees from around the world went through and how they came here. I owe a lot to this book..and Greg.

Just a top 5 today, that’s all I have time for.

2 thoughts on “Reading, part 1

  1. Funny… I have the same visual image of myself with the glasses and notebook, although you left out wearing shorts overalls and Adidas! haha. What a picture! I think we turned out pretty great considering, huh?

    I just want to say that you helped me love reading. I was always self conscious because I read slow, but you never made me feel slow. You would get excited for me to read books that you recommended! So thanks for that. Now I am a fast reader and I read books ALL the time.

    The Help is on my list to read soon! And I didn’t know Francine Rivers had a new series out! I love her books.

Leave a Reply

