betrothed

After Bobby proposed to me on August 7th of last year, I of course said yes and lots of other happy things, but in the back of my mind I kept thinking “I’m betrothed!” My best friend Diana had the same thought- when I called her at 4am her time to tell her I was engaged, she said “You’re betrothed!” I’m glad some things never change. I cannot remember why we always say that or think its so funny. Old-timey words such as betrothed and harlot sometimes make their way to my vocabulary, much to the dismay of some of my friends (ahem, Mere C).

The countdown to marriage has been getting faster, and I am honestly ecstatic. Bobby and I drove past the church this past Saturday, and I have been in a surreal mindset since then. I’m completely overwhelmed in the best way possible. I love processing and fully understanding what is happening, and I don’t want this season to pass and me not see God in it. Here’s things I am happy for:

We were blessed with a fabulous couple to spend our engagement weekend together (and who got to watch the whole thing!) and share some really sweet and fun memories. Bobby and I also get to be in their wedding April 30th!

in honor of Amy & Brad

We were so blessed with a great group of friends and family to be there with us on our engagement day to celebrate

My college friends, who taught me about community and growth, and who had to meet and approve of Bobby before anything could go further.

2007

My Tuesday night girls’ Bible Study…women of God who were close friends with Bobby first, graciously welcomed me in, and have been an amazing community the past few years. Olga (the short one trying to peep over in the back) took it many steps further and invited me into her home to live, so I could get a grasp on adulthood, and discipled me without her even knowing it sometimes.

Another very special group of friends who don’t even fit into a category, other than special heart friends, Midtown friends, summer 2005 friends (plus Sarah, my personal headhunter!), etc.- friends who see me better than I see myself.

Cass makes a double appearance in this blog

Of course, my faithful friend Jessica has been there for me the past 12 years. We’re stuck together. Her encouragement and joy are unmatched, and I love her dearly.

Supportive families…

Taylors, Jones, Williams 2004- felt it worthy to include my sister's and brother's inlaws

Kerseys- who I get to marry into!

band of friends

Of course, some people are not pictured who did have a great impact, such as our original small group, our young adults pastor who I owe meeting Bobby to, and some other greats. I may be “betrothed” to Bobby, who I’m crazy in love with, but I wouldn’t be where I am without these amazing pockets of community. Each have been vital in my spiritual growth. Each have been vital in the growth of my relationship with Bobby.

So, not trying to continue goobing anyone out with my incessant cheer, I was reminded with something else this week. I love Bobby, my family, my friends, and my community…but I love the Lord the most. His grace and my salvation are the GREATEST, and He is to be praised for it all.

“Though you have not seen him, you love him. Though you do not now see him, you believe in him and rejoice with joy that is inexpressible and filled with glory, obtaining the outcome of your faith, the salvation of your souls.”

1 Peter 8-9

3 thoughts on “betrothed

  1. yeah! i can’t wait to see you two get married…phillip and i do hold the record for the first people to detect the love in the air between you two! now we’re probably going to be neighbors too. does it get any better?

  2. Katie,
    I cannot believe you’re getting married!! I’m so glad you are thinking about sentimental things right now in the midst of all the craziness:-) Can’t wait to see you in 11 days!

  3. What a great post… and not just because I was mentioned 🙂 You truly have some amazing friends and family.
    It was an honor to stand with you and Bobby on your wedding day and Brad and I are so thankful to have you both stand with us on ours next!

Leave a Reply

