stress habits

I’ve learned I have some new stress habits since I’ve gotten married. When I feel anxious or worried, I have to DO something- like, weed or rake leaves or paint something. Monday I didn’t have to babysit, so I decided on a whim to repaint the kitchen. If you remember in a previous post, it was a BIG deal trying to find THE kitchen paint color. I don’t know why I made a big deal about it, but I did. At first the kitchen was yellow, which is fine, but after life in yellow and creme colored walls, I needed a break (sorry Mom.) I wasn’t brave enough for a bold color, so I went with Benjamin Moore’s Powell Buff because of how neutral it is, thinking I just need fun accessories. However, I don’t really do fun accessories that much, so the kitchen ended up looking really boring. I also never finished painting the entire thing, so random spots of the kitchen were still yellow.

Then last week, feeling a little down, I decided I wanted a really bright blue and red kitchen. So my kitchen went from this:

to this…

I used Valspar’s Crystal Aqua for this, and its a LOOOOTTT brighter than I thought it would be. I still have moments when I walk in my kitchen and jump, still shocked that I actually did it. However, I haven’t finished part of the kitchen where the washer/dryer are. I had big plans for that area, but until then it’s covered up with a big, yellow bedsheet.

After Monday’s venture, Bobby put me on a painting hiatus for awhile. There’s still a lot of stuff to do in the kitchen, such as fill in that huge blank space of a wall, close in the laundry area, but for now, I’m happy in my bright blue kitchen!

4 thoughts on “stress habits

  1. Okay, so after Tuesday I can totally imagine you walking around the corner and jumping. Ha!

    I love that blue! In our first house, the kitchen was painted 3 times. The first time we chose a yellow that was the shade of a YIELD sign. It was very alarming, so we have played it safe with our wall colors ever since!

    And maybe if you are feeling bold, it might look cute to paint the washer dryer area red?!?! So it defines it as a separate space but incorporates it with the rest of the kitchen as well. I’m no expert and I haven’t seen it in person so that might not work, but it popped into my head while stalking your pics!

  2. it is halfway red! I had a great idea for a stencil, but the stencil went wrong and I got annoyed which is why it isn’t finished yet. I’m not that stressed right now which is another reason why it isn’t finished!

    p.s. I waited at church for you but never found you!

  3. Stumbled across your blog through facebook (and the immigrant post!). Hope you don’t mind me following along 🙂

    I love love love this color blue right now. If I could paint my apt, this would so be one of my color choices.

Leave a Reply

