top 10 of the week

1) my new favorite holiday, April 16th. It’s true people, the Kersey marriage has lasted one year! It was so fun getting texts, phone calls, cards in the mail, and encouragement. It was more fun than my birthday, because on my birthday it’s awkward to be “all about me”- Anniversaries are awesome because I can be all about Bobby and he can be all about me- win win! I’m sure I’ll have a whole post devoted to the year coming soon.

2) When I told my kids about my anniversary, they were so excited. Our conversation went a little like this:

students: “Mrs. Kersey, what did your husband get you for your anniversary?”
me: “He got me a necklace”–which I then displayed to everyone the awesomeness of the necklace, which is a map of Afghanistan– “and a bench, because our other one got stolen.”
students: (in shocked voices) “What!? He got you what?! Huh?”
one girl: “You mean…like, he got you a b-i-t-c-h?”

2) My mother-in-law Betty’s birthday. She was so kind to share her birthday with our wedding day last year. Betty is definitely the lady version of Bobby- they both have dry sense of humors and like to get new cars. She’s supportive and servant-hearted and loves her family fiercely.

3) The trick I’ve learned with Bobby is to never say “I wish you would…” or “Why don’t you..” or “you should…” but to always say “I like it when…” I’ve learned 4th grade boys are no different. Two boys in particular are clearly the cool, cute boys in the grade and they know it. They usually goof off in class, don’t do their work or even show up to school half the time. In small group we were talking about the word influence, which I then used these two boys as an example. I explained how these boys can be a good influence by paying attention in class and other kids will, or how if they come in without homework and don’t participate, other kids follow that. Since then they have been on their game, so involved in group discussions, paying attention- so I was able to brag about them in front of all their teachers and all their classmates. Their smiles on their faces were priceless.

4) When the kid who is the shyest, quietest kid volunteers over and over to read outloud, makes jokes and isn’t afraid to speak up in class.

5) Short but fantastic conversation with Suzanne and David at small group about grace, brokenness, and sin.

6) In effort to be healthy I got some vitamins. They are gummies. And they taste amazing.

7) We went to a 3 year old birthday party last week with a train theme- therefore I put a Thomas the train tattoo on my hand. No matter how hard I scrub it hasn’t come off yet so I’ve gotten a LOT of comments about it. Mainly the teachers I work with make fun of me, while my kindergarteners were so excited about it. The plus side is another teacher went and bought me more fake tattoos! Yay!

8) Not feeling tired, anxious, exhausted, nervous, or worried this week…maybe because I ate more fruit and vegetables, maybe because I went running twice, maybe because I’m not thinking how I can explain a situation in a twitter-worthy tweet- but mainly because I made the decision to quit worrying. I cannot compare myself to people who have been teaching for 15+ years. I’m doing the best that I can. The Lord will equip me and strengthen me for His work. As wise friend Meredith told me before “Comparison kills contentment”, I’m here to attest that it’s vital to joy to literally hold up the shield an extinguish the enemy’s lies.

9) Greg and Brienne’s rehearsal dinner was beautiful, excellent service (Napa Cafe), touching, fun, and perfect. It was fun catching up with friends and celebrating a couple that desires more than anything to make Christ magnified through their wedding.

10) Even though it hasn’t happened yet, I’m sure Greg and Brienne’s wedding will be the best part of the week!

Things that didn’t make it to the top 10:
1) Getting the estimate to replace our dinosaur of a heating/AC unit. Ouch.

2) Working on the 12 page final for one of my teaching classes. Ugh.

3) A couple of months ago I was given a bunch of kindergartners to teach. I have about 20 that I see in small groups once a week. When I went to pick up my 3 Thursday afternoon girls, one of them had a bag of ice up to her nose and blood all over her shirt. Her teacher said she was picking her nose so hard that it started bleeding. I told her she could change her shirt before we went upstairs to my room, so little girl runs to the bathroom. She then runs out, her shirt unbuttoned, her holding her shirt together and holding her other shirt
up. “My other shirt got wet!” she said, handing me the soaked shirt. “How did it get wet? Did it fall in the toilet?” I asked. “Uh huh…” Yuck.

One thought on “top 10 of the week

  1. I love this top ten/thirteen! Your anniversary necklace is FABULOUS. Also, I’m very glad that you’ve found a vitamin that tastes good. : )

Leave a Reply

